Leave a comment

TIE Phantom Repaint

A rare weekend went by without any dice being rolled (probably could have made it out to the tournament at All Star but sleeping in so I could party until 4am later that night seemed like a good idea) but I did get some painting in, which was cool.

I'm sure there's a whispering eye joke in there somewhere.

I’m sure there’s a whispering eye joke in there somewhere.

Since the Phantom came out, I’ve really wanted to do a version where the ship is transitioning out of cloak with guns blazing, like in the card art. This turned out to be more difficult than I had expected! The flatter areas aren’t so bad, but the bumpy areas (like the surface texture on the panels) makes painting thin lines a bit of a nightmare.

The basic method for painting the Phantom starts with an airbrush. I laid down a basecoat of Vallejo Model Air US Intermediate Blue (71.113), which is an amazing color to replicate the blue grey color used on the TIE Interceptors and Bombers. I will be using this again when I repaint some more TIEs.

Anyway, following the basecoat was a thinned wash of P3 Armor Wash. I may have thinned a little excessively this time, since I used too heavy a coat the previous time around. I really don’t use inks much anymore and sometimes it shows! After the ink dried, I touched up the hull with more US Intermediate Blue, and then blacked out the solar panels. One of the final steps after I did all the electricity and everything was blending up a highlight using Vallejo Model Air UKPRU Blue (71.109), which is a very subtle highlight color compared to Intermediate Blue, so I highly recommend using them as a pairing. But let’s not get too far ahead of ourselves!

Side detail.

Side detail.

I painted the cockpit the same way I paint most of my Rebel cockpits; the glass is P3 Coal Black blended up to Thunderhawk Blue, and the grey trim around the glass is Eshin Grey blended up with P3 Frostbite.

At this point, I was ready to break out the airbrush again. I sprayed the back portion of the Phantom black, trying not to overspray too much onto the areas I wanted to stay in the light. Once this was dry, I sprayed a thin stripe of P3 Cygnar Base mixed with extra Matte Medium so it would go on soft and hazy, not anything sharp. Once this was done, I went back and did a thinner coat of Citadel Altdorf Guard Blue mixed with Frostbite and Matte Medium, trying to keep it inside the previous blue bands but at this scale it’s never going to be perfect. Just another thin, hazy layer of paint for the glow around the arcs of electricity.

Then the real fun begins… the freehand. I did up another mix of Altdorf Guard Blue and Frostbite, but with maybe a little more Frostbite to make it brighter. Drawing in jagged lines, using the card art as inspiration, I worked my way around the ship and I am quite happy with most of it. I may go back and redo the opposite side of the Phantom, as it didn’t turn out as well as this side. I kinda got frustrated and started rushing things, instead of taking a step back, calming down a bit and thinking about what I was doing. Must remember my Jedi training next time…

One of the final details was the green glow from the cannons. The card art shows the Phantom blazing away with all 5 guns, and with the strongest primary weapon in the game, it made sense to light the Phantom up like a Christmas tree. I dotted the nubs on the end of the five cannons with P3 Iosan Green, and then airbrushed in a bit of a gradient with P3 Necrotite Green. There’s even a little of this on the chin guns, though I worked hard to keep it subtle! Then I mixed up a highlight of Necrotite Green with white, and gave it a subtle spray closer to the tips of the cannons. Once this was all dry and cleaned up, I dotted the tips of the cannons by brush, using a mix of Necrotite with even more white. Similar to how I did the electricity, really. When doing OSL or glow effects, it helps to keep the source of the glow brighter than the hazy glow itself.

Following a quick spray with Testors Dullcote, I applied the ‘Ardcoat to the canopy glass and called this a finished project (for now anyway). I still might go back and fix up the opposite side of the ship, where the lightning isn’t quite right… But that sounds an awful lot like work, and that means it’s a problem for Future Dan to worry about.

What do you think of the repaint? Do the glowing areas pay off, or are they too much? I welcome feedback before I paint the second one, which is currently just in the basecoat stage.

Leave a Reply

