Leave a comment

Sunday Afternoon Painting – Raven Guard Sniper

Had a bit of fun slapping some paint after Walking Dead this evening. The mk2 sniper marine is nearing completion, as I have mostly just the gun and shoulder pads left to finish.

There’s a few slight issues with the model that I wish I noticed earlier (like the surface imperfections on the backpack … I have a couple dozen of these stupid things and I used the first one out of the box without cleaning it super carefully). Next time I’ll try to pay a little more attention to what I’m doing!

Anyway, on to the pics:

Quite the fancy boltgun on this fella.

Quite the fancy boltgun on this fella.

Look close and you'll notice the sheathed sword in case he needs to serve as an Honor Guard model.

Look close and you’ll notice the sheathed sword in case he needs to serve as an Honor Guard model.

I’ll probably delay a little bit before painting the shoulder pads, as I am not 100% convinced I want to paint them the same way as the first Veteran squad (white with black rims). On most of the models it will work out fine, but a few of the Sternguard plastic shoulder pads make me think they’d look better the other way around. Having a mismatched squad isn’t my style, so I’m kinda torn. I’ll probably live with having 1-2 slightly less than ideal to keep the squad matching and in line with the rest of the army.

That’s all for today, as always the first model in the unit takes the longest to paint as you are stopping to think about what you’re doing and not just plowing through on autopilot. I hope to finish him up in the next few days then start painting the other models a few at a time. If you haven’t joined the Facebook page yet, you probably should as I often post random WIP shots on there that don’t make it to the blog!

Leave a Reply

