3 Comments

Raven Guard for Onslaught

So as many of you already know, I painted up a whole bunch of goodies in between the fall 2012 and spring 2013 Onslaught events. Where’s the fun in taking a successful, fully painted army more than once when you could spend countless hours painting new units and not playtesting them thoroughly before the next tournament?

My Raven Guard on display for voting on April 20th

My Raven Guard on display for voting on April 20th

With this in mind, I set out to defend my Best Overall title with a completely different style list, equally ramshackle but in a new and exciting way. There was a vague plan to do a Pedro Kantor list, with 10 Salamander Sternguard and 10 Raven Guard Sternguard, mostly to justify working on both my old armies at the same time.

The list went through several major swings as I messed around, painted models, and did a lot of math. In the end, the Salamanders were out and it was going to be all Raven Guard (BA’s with Vanilla allies for access to some of the toys, like the Contemptor Mortis). Weeks of work paid off when I claimed Best Appearance. Not a bad consolation prize after finishing 2nd overall!

So very many pictures after the jump.

Vigilator

Vigilator

Vigilator

Vigilator

Vigilator

Vigilator

Despite looking sweet (thanks to Resin Forge for hooking me up with the bitz to complete this model, he just wouldn’t be the same without them), I never did find a way to put this model in the army. For a while this was a trend, as I’d paint a new model and then realize I didn’t need another trooper with such and such equipment after all.

Sternguard

Sternguard

Eventually though, I did get some Sternguard finished. They wound up riding in a Razorback with twin lascannons, and despite dying horribly and never really holding down an objective in the tournament, they usually murdered a lot of dudes and that was good enough for me.

Landspeeder Storm

Landspeeder Storm

Landspeeder Storm

Landspeeder Storm

The Landspeeder Storm I’ve had for a while now, but never quite got around to painting up. At some point I decided that I didn’t want to paint an interior, and figured a gull wing type setup would be cooler than sliding doors. So there’s kind of a hinge looking system and you can imagine the doors flipping up and Scouts spraying bolter fire at confused enemies who were expecting Marty McFly and Doc Brown to jump out.

Anyway, this little thing had some very mixed results. Game 1 it outflanked, I forgot to shoot with it on turn 2, then it crashed in a puddle on turn 3, and in turn 5 it shot dead the last model holding an objective, winning me the game. The other games it either died immediately, or survived to safely deliver its troops and blast away for the remainder of the game. Not a terrible unit, and open-topped transports shouldn’t be overlooked in an army that normally doesn’t get them.

Pedro Kantor

Pedro Kantor

Pedro Kantor

Pedro Kantor

Pedro Kantor

Pedro Kantor

Pedro is yet another model with some history. Right around the time this model was first release (back in the days of pewter!) I picked one up and promptly cut him in half. I also cut in half a Games Day model, the one with the thunder hammer, with the goal of mashing the Pedro body on a Games Day marine’s legs to get a cooler pose. In the end, I just had a bunch of dismembered bitz lying around in a box for probably 5 years or so, until I decided to bust out some Forgeworld MkIII bitz, shave off the Fist icons and replace them all with brass etch Raven Guard symbols. Hooray for unnecessarily complicated conversions!

With the assistance of Prescience from the Librarian, he even managed to hit some guys once in a while with his orbital strike. Like the Storm, he was either a hero or a complete dud, sometimes both in the same game. Against Steve’s Dark Eldar, he blew up multiple vehicles on turn 1, before trying to soak wounds from a stray blast template. Triple 1’s later, he was dead.

Librarian

Librarian

Librarian

Librarian

The Librarian was converted from the Space Hulk set. Ironically, it took hours to shave off all the Blood Angels symbols, and he now gets used as a Blood Angels Librarian in-game. I just love Divination so much… can’t get enough of this guy. The fact that I love how the NMM paintjob turned out also doesn’t hurt his case for being in every army I ever build.

Hyperios Launcher

Hyperios Launcher

Big surprise, this model also consists of stuff I’ve had lying around for ages, updated for a new purpose. The base was from an old botched Forge World order, where I got this instead of the cool Hydra emplacement they used to make. This turret thingy would have sat around forever if I hadn’t realized the turret size was just about perfect to accomodate a Whirlwind missile battery. To hell with spending money on Hyperios batteries, I had all the parts to make one at home! Now if only I could find another one…

Furioso

Furioso

Furioso

Furioso

Furioso

Furioso

The Furioso was actually one of the first models I painted up for this tournament, and right up until the last minute he wasn’t actually in a list. I used the basic plastic one as a stand-in last time since this guy wasn’t yet beyond primer black. In the end, he came along and performed his usual duties, aggressively deploying via Drop Pod for First Blood and usually causing a big mess before dying horribly. In a surprise move, he actually survived the game against Grey Knights and cost me a bonus objective (where I was trying to end the game with all my models in one table quarter).

Contemptor

Contemptor

Contemptor

Contemptor

Contemptor

Contemptor

I know a lot of you were waiting for me to finish this guy for some time now. The arms are by far my favorite part — heavy bolter arms with the barrels chopped off and swapped for IG heavy weapon team plastic autocannons. Pinned in place and with the brace connecting the barrels made out of plasticard/greenstuff. This was fiddly work, but I really do love the result. These puppies are over 2.5″ long and this guy just looks mean.

He soaked up a lot of firepower in my games, killed a lot of stuff, and occasionally died in horrific fashion. Unlike the Hyperios Launcher, he even managed to shoot at some planes, scoring 4 penetrating hits against a Dark Eldar fighter before it made three 5+ saves, and in game 4 blasting a poor Nephilim out of the sky with ridiculous ease. Assault cannons sound great with 12 S6 rending shots, but the 48″ and twin-linked status just make this thing a beast at shredding anything AV12 or under. Even just for screening the smaller AV12 Dreadnought or torrenting away units with wounds, he came in immensely useful. I highly recommend one.

That’s all for this round, folks. Hope you liked the photo barrage, now off to get some sleep so I can start painting another batch of toys later this week. I’m hoping to do a batch of Heresy era World Eaters, in the blue and white. Should be wicked fun!

3 comments on “Raven Guard for Onslaught

  1. […] Raven Guard for Onslaught […]

  2. […] Games Day UK in September. Really looking forward to the Isstvan V campaign, as my Salamanders and Raven Guard can always use a new unit to put on the shelf. Word Bearers getting their turn to shine is also […]

  3. […] as Marneus Calgar that has been sitting in my bitz box since he first came out. Like I did with Pedro Kantor, I shaved off all his chapter badges and replaced them with Forge World etched brass symbols. He […]

Leave a Reply

