2 Comments

Onslaught April 2013 Coverage

Saturday was the big day — the spring 2013 incarnation of Ward Kapach’s Onslaught tournament.

Last fall I was able to come out on top of the 40k side, winning Best Overall by a single point with a 3W-0L-1D record. How did I do this year? Find out after checking out these pics 🙂

Game 1 vs. Luke Church

Game 1 vs. Best Sportsman winner Luke Church

Game 4 vs. Jason Desaulniers

Game 4 vs. Jason Desaulniers

Hot Skaven on Skaven action!

Hot Skaven on Skaven action!

April 2013 Jordan Necrons

Perennial Best Overall/General contender Jordan Murphy’s Necrons

April 2013 Kieren Brets

Best Overall winner Kieren Trimbee’s Bretonnians

April 2013 Mike Skaven

Mike Sawada’s Best Appearance winning Skaven army

My Raven Guard on display for voting

My Raven Guard on display for voting

Another sweet Raven Guard army! Davey Greenley I think was the name...

Another sweet Raven Guard army! Davey Greenley I think was the player’s name…

My roommate, game 2 opponent and 2nd place for Best Appearance, Steve Lind's Dark Eldar

My roommate, game 2 opponent and 2nd place for Best Appearance winner, Steve Lind’s Dark Eldar

Best Overall winner TJ Westgate's Tyrannic War Veteran Ultramarines

Best Overall winner TJ Westgate’s Tyrannic War Veteran Ultramarines

So what was the final result? Like last year, I was able to somehow manage a 3W-0L-1D record, winning a close one against Luke Church’s Space Wolves, tying Steve Lind’s Dark Eldar, winning in a kill points mission against Rob’s Coteaz/Karazamov Grey Knights, and finally rallying for a massacre win versus Jason Desaulniers’ Dark Angels.

As I mentioned previously, last year I finished 1 measley point ahead of Jordan Murphy for Best Overall. If he had submitted a few paragraphs of fluff for his army, he would have won thanks to the tie-breaker. This year, I took a few more hits on bonus points (I took Forgeworld units, allies and a Special Character) and since I had to change my army list based on what was (…or wasn’t…) being painted, I lost the 2 points for submitting early as well. I got my comeuppance, finishing second place in the Best Overall standings this year to TJ’s Pedro/Storm Talon/Thunderfire Cannon army. This list had a lot of people fearing Vanilla marines for the first time in ages. Well done, TJ!

Lucky for me, I was able to walk away with the Best Appearance award for 40k with my Raven Guard. I suppose that I technically went home empty-handed, but only because I forgot to bring the trophy home with me. Whoops!

My thanks to Ward for putting on another stellar event! And congratulations again to all the award winners; there were several gorgeous armies in both systems and lots of really competitive games going on out there, so everybody really earned what they received.

In case some of you are wondering who the best is, they are up here on this website: Alberta Wargaming GT. The plaque for the alternates is down in the ladies room.

2 comments on “Onslaught April 2013 Coverage

  1. good stuff, I can send a decent picture of my Space Wolves if you want, I totally forgot to leave them set up for photos during the lunch break..

Leave a Reply

