1 Comment

Painting Spotlight – Mariner’s Blight

Just another quick post, I had to share a link to one of the coolest army blogs I’ve come across in a very long time.  The log is called Mariner’s Blight, and it’s up on Warseer and LuckyNo.5’s blog, Eye of Error. Simply put, this project is insane and I can’t wait to see some of the WIP units get finished. There’s simply nothing else like them.

I have no idea what this is, but it looks angry and I don’t want to be anywhere near it.

Instead of describing it further, I’ll save myself the time and just snip from the thread:

This is a new army I’ve been working on in secret; Mariners Blight.

They are a maritime inspired Lovecraftian Chaos Marine Army combining inspiration from The Shadow over Innsmouth as well as the Cthulhu mythos with 1800’s style diving suits and nautical details.

I will have several updates over the next few weeks, but for now here’s some Marines.

They were made from a combination of MK2 & MK3 Armour with Morback’s BioHazard Helmets. I literally cut legs off from MK2 Armour and swapped with MK3 Armour to create a more chaotic appearnce. Some Maxmini mutation bits were mixed in with possessed bits to achieve an aquatic mutation effect on the Close Combat Marines.

The bases were from Secret Weapon Miniatures. A Combination of their Blasted Wetlands mixed with Bone Fields designed to look like bone infested murky swamp land. Think the Dead Marshes from LOTR.

The minis sure don’t disappoint. Heavily converted, with some of the highest dollar per figure ratios that I’ve seen in ages. I thought my pre-heresy Word Bearers, complete with many GK bitz and shoulder pads and Micro Art Studio bases were expensive… yikes.

Some glorious photos:

Very crusty, which is perfect for the Bioshock/Cthulu/Nurgle mashup.

Jetpacks underwater? Why not!

Like what you see? There’s plenty more and he’s updating fairly regularly, which is awesome. I don’t often follow the non-Imperial project logs, but this one has gripped me firmly by the balls for a while now and I love checking out whatever crazy thing he’s working on.

I hope you find this project as inspiring as I do! Now what are you still doing here? Click the link already.

One comment on “Painting Spotlight – Mariner’s Blight

  1. Hey Dan in case you missed it that octodiver is a difiler.

Leave a Reply

