2 Comments

It has begun!

It’s approaching the end of March. The snow is finally starting to melt, leaving the outside world that delightful shade of Edmonton Springtime Brown.

Gotta love that shade of brown. It goes with everything, which is great because your work clothes and fancy leather shoes will inevitably be covered in it for the next two months.

What does that mean? Okay, you’re correct if you guessed “Potholes big enough to swallow your car whole.” But that’s not what I mean. Yes, it’s time to start gearing up for tournament season again!

Instead of working on my Greatswords like I really really should be, I’ve been spending a couple of hours the last few evenings with my foam cutter in hand, taking in the delightful fumes of melting polystyrene. Oh, how this brings back (and takes away) such wonderful memories of working for pennies at the local GW all those years ago…

As always, I thought I had everything I needed to get started. Then I end up tearing through my closets, all my boxes of Warhammer stuff, my painting area, my parents’ house … and finally at some point I realize that I need to suck it up and go shopping. What started as “I need to get some popsicle sticks for $2.00 from the craft store” ended up being a trip to Kites and Other Delights in South Edmonton Common. I ended up buying some lovely Tamiya kits and yet more plasticard to add to my massive collection that never ends up getting used. I also ended up at Ikea, buying a couple of extra sets of shelves to accomodate all the crap that I will inevitably buy.

Sandbags, jerry cans, plasticard ... what else could a guy ask for?

A couple hours (and $130 later) I arrive at home, and enjoy a wonderful evening of alternately swearing at the Oilers on TV and swearing at Ikea furniture. I thought I had all the tools I needed to avoid allen wrench nightmares, but my 300-piece ratcheting screwdriver set doesn’t have allen key bits small enough. Of course it doesn’t 😛

Sporadic updates will follow as I haphazardly work on scenery projects from now until July. When my thumbs get tired from extended Call of Duty / Dragon Age / multiple Mass Effect 2 playthroughs, I will try to turn all that scenery inspiration into some pretty rad scenery pieces. I’ve been pining away for some good old fashioned noob tube 7/11/25 action on Wasteland lately (pretty fitting, when you consider that the map based around a nuclear wasteland is the easiest one to get a nuke on… but that’s another story altogether!), which means my first few WIP projects are all trenches. Building them a solid 45mm wide to give even the bulkiest Fetish Marine Terminators plenty of room for their fur bikinis and Dracula capes. Stay tuned for more!

And, because I felt like it, I also made a Wyrding Well using the little pillar/bowl thing from Lord of the Rings. I don’t have a clue what it’s called, but everybody who bought the Galadriel & Celeborn set to auto-win a painting contest knows what I’m talking about. The only thing that gives you a more sure-fire Golden Demon award than Galadriel is a Forgeworld Chaos Dreadnought. Isn’t that right, Tom 😉 Don’t worry, I’m (probably) just kidding.

Forgeworld = win

In case you were wondering, at no point in my travels did I buy any goddamn popsicle sticks. On the bright side, dodging massive craters in the asphalt during my next shopping trip will give me lots of ideas for wartorn battlefields of the far future…

2 comments on “It has begun!

  1. I should be offended. But I did beat out the deathguard forgeworld dread. And that normally trumps all. The only sad thing is that this model keeps inspiring me to work on 40k, but gw keeps beating the piss out of this motivation with *cough* dreadknight *cough* stupid releases. The inquisition using tau technology? WTF?!?!!!

    • I know, it’s frustrating. Lange and Nathan made a good point about how 40k is taking some hints from Fantasy lately (nods to previous editions/older fluff) but still choosing silly caricatures over reasonable interpretations of the background. In the grim darkness of the far future there is no such thing as subtlety.

Leave a Reply

