Leave a comment

Introduction / Ramblings / A most noble endeavour

So you’re probably wondering why you’re here. Or perhaps you’re wondering why I’m here. Maybe you’re wondering why any of us are here, in some existential way that I am in no way qualified to answer. In any case, I should probably just make with the introductions already. My name is Dan — you might know me as Jericho from communities like Warseer or CMON — and I am here because I have a desire to give back to the community that has given me some great memories and some pretty amazing friendships over the years.

Gamer culture is an incredibly interesting topic, one which is starting to really get some serious attention these days. Being a gamer doesn’t necessarily mean living in a dark basement (most likely your mom’s). I have proof of this, as neither my Warhammer collection nor my Xbox Live subscription mysteriously evaporated when I got all growed up and moved out. Gaming has gone mainstream. Being a geek is socially acceptable, and even the most socially inept nerds can get their time in the spotlight (Sheldon Cooper, anyone?).

We have survived, we are emerging from the chaos of Old Night and forging a great, shining empire that has the potential to unite humanity under one golden banner …

If you’ve read anything at all about the Warhammer 40,000 universe, you know the problem with this image. Something about heresy, galactic civil wars and a grimdark future where there is only war. You know what I’m talking about.

This whole social phenomenon is still relatively new. We’ve surely put the Dark Ages behind us, but we haven’t hit our Renaissance just yet. I think we have a long way to go before we can try to make that claim. I think it’s important that we, as gamers in the general sense but also as members of our separate gaming groups, continue to develop in a healthy way. We’ve all seen the horrors that lurk in the depths of our communities … trolls … power gamers … rules lawyers … they’re everywhere and if we don’t do something about it, they will continue to erode the foundations of our fledgling gaming civilization.

“Look back over the past, with its changing empires that rose and fell, and you can foresee the future too.”

— EMPEROR MARCUS AURELIUS

I know I’m probably taking way too long to say this, so I’ll try to get to the point 🙂 I strongly suggest that we do something to better our community. For some of us that will mean becoming Leaders, but really we can all get involved and become Citizens of the gaming community. I plan to use this blog to host an on-going series of articles, features and interviews under the banner of Inspiring Presence, or simply IP if you’re looking for something a bit more portable.

With a bit of luck, there will be plenty of articles on running events, starting clubs, and generally trying to make a positive impact on our beloved hobby. This isn’t about me preaching to the masses. I sincerely want to hear from all corners of the gaming world. What are gamers out there already doing? More importantly, what are they doing right and how can we do better? I hope that you are willing to join me in this endeavour. Let’s see what the gaming community is really capable of.

Leave a Reply

